The Blogging Community

In this post I intend to analyze why the culture of blogging has become such a phenomenon, and why it’s impact on the way we view ourselves and our community has been so widespread. Or I could just try to sum every teams networks of blogs in a sentence? What would their motto be? That sounds like more fun. I’ll do it in alphabetical order which handily means that the D-Backs start us off;

Arizona- "We have serious issues about our grip on reality,and I mean serious"

Atlanta- "We’re still the best team in the NL East-no really we are"

Baltimore- "Actually, we’re not that bothered"

Boston- "We’re not romantic losers anymore we’re hard nosed winners (but secretly I wish we were romantic losers again)"

Chicago Cubs- "We were robbed by the umpire/weather/ourselves/a curse"

Chicago White Sox- "We used to be so good,now everyone must go"

Cincinnati- "I started blogging in April but I’ve been really busy"

Cleveland- "What really matters is that we’re not getting enough players in the All-Star game"

Colorado- " Of course, the Rockies are only my second team"

Detroit- "I’ve always been a really big fan, even when they were losing"

Florida- "Our name has got a fish in it’s title"

Houston- "We only update our blogs if we speak Spanish"

Kansas City- "I honestly think that we can turn this around"

LA Angels- "We take the game very seriously-here are some stats"

LA Dodgers- "I really want to sell you some stuff,but I also have links to very worthwhile charities"

Milwaukee- "We will analyze every performance of every player every day"

Minnesota- "We should be doing better than this,shouldn’t we?"

NY Mets- "We have lots of blogs,some updated as recently as September 2006"

NY Yankees- "I really wish I was in an episode of The Sopranos,but I’m not"

Oakland- "We have recipes on our blogs"

Philadelphia- "We love a good pun"

Pittsburgh- "We are self deprecating and therefore not really proud of it"

St Louis- "We love the Cardinals,but we hate the Cubs more"

San Diego- "I think that we are a good team, but not that good"

San Francisco- "We care about art and culture too"

Seattle-"This good run can’t last"

Tampa Bay- "Why does everything always go wrong for us?"

Texas- "We don’t care how bad our team is, we’re gonna keep blogging"

Toronto- "If we were just in a different division everything would be fine"

Washington- "We base our blogs on the Declaration of Independence"

I think that that is a fair and balanced summary of the situation,but lest I be accused of not giving out praise where it is merited (both my wife and her sister say that I can be very critical) here are some bouquets.

Most knowledgeable fans- Milwaukee Brewers

Nicest fans- Pittsburgh Pirates

Most Surprisingly Prolific fans- Texas Rangers

Most Boring blog-any by an official or "TV voice" of any organization

I know that the last one wasn’t a bouquet but i think we all know that it’s true.

Nothing for the Diamondbacks I’m afraid, except maybe some psychometric testing might be in order.

Enjoy the game.

4 comments

  1. levelboss@levelboss.com

    very nice idea! summarizing the feel of each team’s fan blogs

    ‘Boston- “We’re not romantic losers anymore we’re hard nosed winners (but secretly I wish we were romantic losers again)’

    -spot on!

    ‘NY Yankees- “I really wish I was in an episode of The Sopranos,but I’m not”‘

    -don’t quite understand this one

    ‘Most Boring blog-any by an official or “TV voice” of any organization’

    -any examples? lol

  2. pinginarizona@yahoo.com

    Ping laugh in great knowledge…excellent post on D*Backs…that Left Field Line Lady off the rocker!!!

Leave a Reply

